August 30, 2014

Subscriber Login

Other Sports
Several Blue Devils, Seminoles, Pilots Named to OVAC All-Conference Academic PDF Print E-mail
Written by Staff   
Wednesday, August 13, 2014 4:35 PM

Announced on Aug. 7 was the 2013-14 OVAC All-Conference Academic Team. All schools in the OVAC were asked to submit the names of any student/athlete who fit the following criteria: be in grades 9-12, earn a 3.8 gpa or higher on a 4.0 scale, participate in at least one varsity sport.

The certificates for each student-athlete were to be presented to the athletic directors of each school at the mandatory OVAC meeting on Wed., Aug. 13.

The program is sponsored by Ohio University Eastern. Honored students who choose to attend OUE receive a scholarship that pays half of their tuition. The scholarship is renewable for their sophomore year as long as grades are maintained.

Following are members of the 2013-14 OVAC All-Conference Academic Team from the three Monroe County high schools:

OVAC Youth Football Clinic Set PDF Print E-mail
Written by Submitted   
Wednesday, July 16, 2014 7:55 AM

To kickoff the beginning of the 2014-15 ‘SUBWAY Sports Clinic Series’ the Ohio Valley Athletic Conference will be hosting its ninth annual free youth football clinic in conjunction with the ‘Rudy Mumley OVAC All-Star Charity Football Classic presented by Huntington Bank & WTOV9.’ The clinic will take place the day of the game on Sunday, July 27, at the Wheeling Island Stadium.

Registration will take place at the Stadium from noon to 12:45 p.m. The clinic will last from 1:00 to 2:30 p.m. and will be directed by OVAC football coaches, including members of Coach Chris Daugherty’s Wheeling Park High School football staff. Additionally, Bethany College Football staff will assist with the clinic. The instructors will teach the basic fundamentals of football with a focus on building self-esteem. 

Wright Named PVC Coach of the Year, Several Pilots and Seminoles Honored PDF Print E-mail
Written by Staff   
Thursday, June 05, 2014 10:01 AM

Announced on May 28 were this year’s Pioneer Valley Conference (PVC) All-League softball and baseball teams.

In softball, the River Lady Pilots dominated the league, finishing with a 12-0 league record. Fittingly, River coach Dave Wright was named the 2014 PVC Softball Coach of the Year.

River also had the most players making the all-league team. Haylee Bowers, Monica Curtis, Gabby Goudy, Emily Heater and MacKenzie Marshall were all named all-league for 2014.

Monroe Central’s softball team finished fifth in the league with a 4-8 league record. Brandi Christman and Brittany Hooper were each named to the all-league team. 

Gunnar Smith Signs With University of Rio Grande for the 2015 Season PDF Print E-mail
Written by Staff   
Thursday, June 05, 2014 9:58 AM


Gunnar Smith is pictured with family, friends and coaches during as he signs to play with Rio Grande. University of Rio Grande head baseball coach Brad Warnimont has announced the signing of Warren High School’s Gunnar Smith for the 2015 season.

Smith is the son of Chad and Christina Smith of Little Hocking, Ohio. He is the grandson of Marcy Pandy and the late Oscar Smith and Ken and Lola Phillips, all of Beallsville.

Smith, a 6-foot-2, 248-pound catcher, batted .333 with six doubles and 12 runs batted in for head coach Kevin Welsh’s Warriors, who finished 8-11 after a loss to Jackson in the second round of Division II district play.

As a junior, Smith hit .356 and drove in 22 runs in 25 games.

“I’m very excited to get started,” Smith said. “I feel like Rio Grande is the place for me and the place for me to succeed. Playing college baseball is the realization of a dream I’ve had since I was little. I’m very blessed to have the opportunity.”

Smith, who also threw out eight runners attempting to steal, was a first team All-Southeast Ohio Athletic League selection this spring after earning honorable mention All-SEOAL honors in each of the previous two seasons.

Last Updated on Thursday, June 05, 2014 10:00 AM
2013-14 River Junior High Basketball Boys Team PDF Print E-mail
Written by Staff   
Thursday, May 15, 2014 12:18 PM

The 2013-14 River Junior High basketball boys team had an undefeated season at 15-0. Their season culminated in a district championship. It was the second year in a row River brought home the title. Pictured, back row from left to right are: Asst. Coach Joe Asturi, Head Coad Dougan Dietz, Drew Dietz, Lukas Isaly, John Murphy, Clay Jones, Asst. Coach Cari Wichterman, Asst. Coach Brandon Spouse. Middle row from left to right are: Ridge Thompson, Payton VanCamp, Drew Raper, Riley Thompson, Dillon Grimes, Tanner Brown. Front row from left to right are: Logan Alleman, Cole Brown, Jason Deaton, Kelton Hafer, Levi Bowers.